Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

During the holidays, as some of you may remember, we began a three-part series of videos on Foie Gras. Our first was on making homemade Foie Gras, then came our adventure at the foie market early on morning, and now we have the pleasure of presenting our final segment. The vendors who sold us our liver at the market invited us to their farm, which is in the south west region of France, for an afternoon to discover the traditional French methods of farming ducks for Foie Gras.

A great deal of controversy surrounds this French delicacy. Some believe it amounts animal cruelty. Others see is as a traditional French food, a way of raising an animal to produce a certain type of food that people adore.

I must say that before I moved to France I had never tried Foie Gras. I was against it on some undefined moral level without ever having given it much thought. I saw force-feeding an animal as an abuse. But I never thought about it any further or anymore profoundly than that. I certainly hadn’t been raised in a culture defined in important ways by it.

Since moving to France, I’ve discovered a world of Foie Gras. My belle-famille has a home in Dordogne which is right in the center of the Périgord – the duck region of France – where the gastronomy is littered with magret, confit, Foie Gras, paté, terrine, gésier and much more. I’ve developed a great appreciation for duck as a source of meat.

I wanted to better understand how Foie Gras was made right from the beginning, and so began this series. Our last video, below, shows how the ducks are raised, feed and de-feathered on a farm that practices traditional French methods.

I show it the way I saw it. If you have difficulties with this sort of thing, perhaps you shouldn’t watch. There is nothing disgusting or crude, but it may shock a sensitive eye.

My goal is not to rally for or disrepute duck farming. My aim is to show the reality so that each of us can knowingly make up our own minds.

I hope you find this informative.

