Tags

, , , , , ,

A peek at a traditional French Christmas among family. Watch for the little shoes under the tree instead of stockings hung by the chimney with care, dinner of homemade foie gras, salmon and rooster, no turkey or ham; four generations gathering for Christmas Day dinner in a 16th century manor in Dordogne, France.

This is the second Christmas I’ve spent with my French in-laws. This year Grammy, the youngest generation’s 97-year-old great-grandmother, came over for Christmas dinner. The four generations span from 1-year-old to 97. Grammy’s husband died last year at 104 years old. Here’s to the French diet!

We made the foie gras ourselves this year. It was my first go at the French delicacy. I made a video of the whole experience (which was quite something). As soon as I get back home with proper internet access (we are still down in the south of France), I’ll post the video.

Wishing you a Very Happy New Year!

Bon Réveillon à tous !