Tags

, , , , , , ,

I know, I know. This is stretching the Paris, all things French theme a little thin. (Does it save me to say that the recipe came from a Mexican friend who I met here in Paris?)

The reason for guacamole is simple: we are stove- and oven-less for a few weeks, and I found myself in the kitchen the other day wondering what variant of a ham sandwich and salad I could whip up. And then it hit me. I went to the only store that was open in all this construction and bought a few things. The rest is on the video.

This is truly one of the best recipes for guacamole that I have ever tasted, super simple and a great appetizer, snack, spread or side dish. And it did come from a friend’s great grandma.

Let us know what you think!

Ingredients:

2 ripe avocados*, 1/2 lime, 1/2 onion diced, hot pepper to taste diced, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tbsp large sea salt, 1 handful fresh parsley, 2 handfuls fresh coriander, cracked black pepper optional (be careful if you also add the hot pepper not to make it too spicy).

*To ensure your avocado is ripe, pick one that has a dark black/purplish color skin. Feel the fruit and be sure that it is soft, not push-your-finger-through-the-skin- smooshy, but not at all hard. If it is not quite perfect, I have a trick in the video to help. If the avocado is hard, leave it on your windowsill for a few days around other fruit, then try the recipe later in the week.