Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve always been a biography kind of reader. I love nothing more than to pour my spare time over a story that I know is real, happened to someone and therefore even more intriguing than the brilliant elaborations of an author’s imagination.

For those of you who are fascinated by Paris and life in France, here is a list of books you will enjoy. As the weather brings with it a cool wind, here’s 10 terrific reasons to curl up by the fire and indulge yourself.

My top 10 best reads so far (about Paris or life in France) simply in the order they appear on my bookshelf:

A Year In Provence, Peter Mayle (and the subsequent Encore Provence; Toujours Provence)

We’ve Always Had Paris… and Provence, Patricia and Walter Wells

Almost French, Sarah Turnbull

All you need to be Impossibly French, Helena Frith Powell

The Du Mauriers, Daphne du Maurier

The Moveable Feast, Ernest Hemingway

The Paris Wife, Paula McLain*

Luncheon of the Boating Party**, Susan Vreeland

Marie Antoinette, Stefan Zweig

Suite Française, Irene Nemirovsky (the book I was reading when I made the definitive decision to move to France)

(an 11th just ’cause…. France, A Love Story, ed. Camille Cusumano)

Bonne lecture (happy reading)!!

* With all I’ve said about biography, this book is fiction. But it’s written as if it was a memoir of Hadley Hemingway’s, Ernest’s first wife, years in France with the writer. An excellent read.

** Ditto for Renoir’s early years. A good read.