Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m very excited to share with you a completely new experience I had over the holidays. I made a Foie Gras from scratch. My belle-mère took me to the “marché de foie” early one morning and I watched the farmer remove the over-sized liver from the duck. Then I took it home and followed my father-in-law’s family recipe (with a great deal of help from my mother-in-law) to season and cook the foie.  We even had to devein it. As an American with no farm experience under her belt, you can imagine how many firsts this represented for me! Especially since a few years ago, before this whole French life started for me, I wouldn’t have touched Foie Gras with a ten foot pole! Now here I am making one.

I can attest to the success and deliciousness of this recipe as we enjoyed it en entée during Christmas Day dinner. I was a little nervous to serve it to so many people, French people at that who have a certain expertise in eating Foie Gras, this having been my very first go at making a Foie Gras. To my amazement, it worked out beautifully and it is a remarkably easy delicacy to make!

This video is Part 1 of a three-part mini-documentary series I’m putting together on Foie Gras. The farmer and his wife from whom we bought the foie invited us to their farm to see how the ducks are raised and feed. I was immensely curious given all the talk of animal cruelty and such surrounding Foie Gras in the States. That field trip will be Part 3 of the series. Part 2, the next video to come, will be our experience at the foie market, talking to the vendor who is a fourth generation duck farmer, buying the foie and watching the farmer remove it with giant gardening shears.

It really doesn’t get any more French than this!

As a side note, the French are neutral on the political context of Foie Gras. It’s part of French life (a very appreciated part, I might add) and as you will see from the video, most French people are much closer to the food they eat than North Americans – much closer in the sense that they aren’t squeamish about seeing the animal who died to feed them. The line linking the food change is obvious and natural to the French. Having grown up in another, totally opposite food culture, I’m forever intrigued by such differences.

I hope you enjoy the video! We had great fun putting it together for you!

